ISO TC279 / ISO 56000

Innovation Management Technical Advisory Group

The International Association of Innovation Professionals (IAOIP) has been chosen as the  U.S. Technical Advisory Group (TAG) Administrator for the development of the new Innovation Management Standards. The scope of ISO TC 279 / ISO 56000 is “Standardization of terminology tools and methods and interactions between relevant parties to enable innovation.”





Standards published will be ISO 56000 series. These standards, once developed, will allow organizations to share their best practices in Innovation Management, and will facilitate collaboration as well as develop the capability to innovate, and to bring innovations successfully to market. These standards will be a set of best practices, which begins with senior management leadership involving the confirmation of the organization’s strategy. The standard is designed to support innovation in organizations, and work on the development of standards is done by working groups (WGs), each of which deals with a particular field.The current US TAG Working Groups and Chairs/Co-Chairs are as follows:

ISO/TC 279/WG 01 – Innovation Management Systems

  • (ISO/CD 56001): Innovation Management Systems: Bill Craddock

  • (ISO/CD 56002): Innovation Management Systems Guidance: ISSUED

ISO/TC 279/WG 02 – Terminology & Definitions

  • (ISO/CD 56010): Illustrative Examples: Shellie Halstead

  • (ISO/CD 56000): Technology, Terminology and Definitions: ISSUED

ISO/TC 279/WG 03 – Tools and Methods 

  • (ISO/CD 56003): Innovation Partnerships:  ISSUED

  • (ISO/CD 56005): Intellectual Property Management:  ISSUED

  • (ISO/CD 56006): Strategic Intelligence Management: Ripi Singh

  • (ISO/CD 56007): Idea Management International: Ron Fulbright

  • (ISO/CD 56008): Innovation Operation Measurement & Metric: Rick Fernandez

  • (ISO/CD 56009): Innovation Science Think Tank: Frank Voehl

ISO/TC 279/WG 04

  • (ISO/CD 56004): Innovation Management Assessment: ISSUED

This means we will be involving the main players from our target sector (public and private) so that the input of key players is considered and incorporated into the final version of the five-part Innovation Management Standards. Broad participation will allow us to develop clear rules and standards on all issues involving innovation.

Advantages for IAOIP Members

Our members will benefit from our leadership and participation in this process. Benefits are as follows:


  • Gives visibility to your professional practices or reference documents, as ISO is one of the most highly recognized international governing bodies for standards.
  • Helps us shape the future direction of standards regarding innovation management, thereby influencing its impact on the U.S. and targeted sectors around the world.
  • Allows us to develop deeper relationships with key players within a profession or sector.
  • Creates understanding and co-ordination among our various stakeholders.
  • Shares best practice in and across sectors, and in and across participating ISO countries.
  • Improves quality and interoperability in and across sectors and participating ISO countries.
  • Leads to worldwide visibility due to ISO members’ distribution and implementation networks.
  • Helps us develop a members-only forum to communicate using, for example, a dedicated web site.
  • Connects us with other world-class organizations.
  • Gives us an inside track on developing International Workshop Agreements (IWAs).

Additional Information

  • US TAG members must be citizens of the United States, or residing and working for a U.S. company.
  • The Association can assist other countries interested in participating in the development of country TAG.
  • All members of the TAG will be expected to adhere to the “Code of Ethics”.
  • To learn more contact:

Apply to become a member of this TAG:

Members of the TAG:

  • Thomas Agrait, Lean Enterprise Consulting*
  • Dan Ault, Town of Cary
  • Ben Babaii, Face Innovation International
  • Francis Behan, Corning Inc.
  • Harland Bennett, Ever Evolving
  • Sid Benraouane, University of Minnesota*
  • Eduardo Blumenfeld (DECEASED)*
  • Thomas Brazil, ICS Inc.
  • Suzan E Briganti, Swarm Vision*
  • Joann Butler, Butler & Associates*
  • Kevin Campbell, Dekra
  • Bartlett Cleland, Madery Bridge
  • Doug Collins, Sopheon*
  • Bill Craddock, Craddock and Associates Inc.
  • Thomas Donahue, US Chamber of Commerce – RETD*
  • Tojin Eapen, University of Missouri
  • Edward Elliot, US Patent & Trademark Office*
  • Gary Farina, Michigan STEM Partnership*
  • Rick Fernandez, 20-20 Innovation, Inc.
  • Ron Fulbright, University of South Carolina
  • Beena George, University of St. Thomas
  • Bob Gilbert, CCI Consulting*
  • Alex Goryachev, Cisco
  • Dawn Gregory, Hatfield International Airport*
  • Praveen Gupta, Stephen Gould Corp.
  • Rick Hall, Arizona State University*
  • Shellie Halstead, Lee County School District
  • Christian Hannon, US Patent & Trademark Office*
  • Jim Harrington, Harrington Systems
  • Thomas Haynie, LUXO Consulting
  • Fadi Hindi, Xische
  • Sara Husk, Planbox
  • Chris Kaufman, Cisco*
  • Anne Keogh, Quantum Thinking*
  • Patrick Kilbride, US Chamber of Commerce*

*Denotes an inactive member of the TAG

  • Christian Leman, WorldStrides
  • Jim Matthews, Corning Research & Development Corp.
  • Greg McLaughlin, Innovation Processes and Solutions, LLC*
  • Chuck Mignosa, Business Systems Architects, LLC*
  • Langdon Morris, Innovation Labs*
  • Toussaint L. Myricks, Myricks Law
  • Doug Nelson, Harrington Management Systems*
  • Irina Nowak, Consultant*
  • Dr. Michael O’Connor, Medtronic*
  • Liana Pernes, Nova Southeastern University
  • Fernando Pintos*
  • Santiago Pintos, GoToIT Solutions
  • David Plummer, Plummer & Associates*
  • Leonard Pounds, Nova Southeastern University
  • Bob Preziosi, Nova Southeastern University
  • Rick Rasmussen, University of California, Berkeley*
  • Kent Roberts, National Civility Center*
  • Robin Rowe, Venture Hollywood*
  • Alexander Rumsey, Leonardo DRS
  • Paul Salmon, US Patent & Trademark Office*
  • Darrel Sandall, Florida Institute of Technology
  • Suzanna Schmeelk,  St. Johns University
  • Robert Seemer, CTI*
  • Carl Schu, Medtronic*
  • Anthony Seabrook, Seabrook Consulting*
  • Robert Seemer, ETS – Electronic Training Systems*
  • Ripi Singh, Plus4Pi LLC/Inspiring Next
  • Jannel Smith, Calibum International*
  • Steve Snider, Sunstone Growth*
  • Hugo Ta, Gilead*
  • Brett Trusko,  IAOIP
  • Frank Voehl, Strategy Associates
  • Chris Voehl, Strategy Associates*
  • Abram Walton, Florida Institute of Technology
  • Howard Wolkowitz, Health of Your Wealth*